Sweet Potato Ravioli

DSC_0053

DSC_0049

One of the beautiful benefits of moving to the east coast a few years ago, is that I have been able to spend significantly more time with my cousins. I owe this recipe to my cousin Bekah, who is an awesome cook, and introduced me to sweet potato ravioli. I will forever be indebted to her.

Bekah has a similar love for sweet potatoes as I do.  It’s one of those over-the-moon, home-run, forever and always kind of loves. Therefore, we were both pretty giddy about the discovery of this dish.

After my introduction to sweet potato ravioli with Bekah a few weeks ago, I promptly purchased my own ingredients, adapted a similar recipe, and whipped up my own batch….four weeks in a row. Some might say I was obsessed.

You may not share the same strange love of sweet potatoes as I do, but I do hope you all try this scrumptious dish.  And I  suggest the Kale Pesto sauce to top it off as well! My bet is you will be hooked 🙂

Here’s to comfort food and family to share it with.

Come back soon!

Love, a rented kitchen

DSC_0059

 

DSC_0047

Ingredients:

  • 3 Medium Sweet Potatoes
  • 1 inch crushed Ginger
  • 1 teaspoon Ground Cumin
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon Ground Coriander
  • Salt and freshly ground Pepper to taste
  • 1 package wonton wrappers
  • ½ cup water (for assembling wontons) + 2 cups water for steaming

Directions:

  1. Wash and dry the sweet potatoes. Wrap in aluminum foil and bake at 350˚F for 50 minutes- 1 hour, or until soft to the touch.
  2. Remove the potatoes from the oven, and use a fork/knife to peel the skin off of the sweet potatoes. (Be careful! They’ll be hot!)
  3. Combine the baked sweet potatoes with the spices in a large bowl. Mash until completely mixed.
  4. Assemble the raviolis one at a time, by brushing a thin layer of water along the outside edge of a wonton wrapper. Arrange the wonton wrapper so that it is in a diamond position compared to where you are standing.
  5. Place 1 teaspoon of sweet potato filling in the center of the wonton wrapper and pinch the edges closed, so that the bottom corner is pinched to the top corner.
  6. Fold the two side edges together, wrapping one over the top of the other, and pinching tight. (There are usually images portraying this process on the wonton package if you are a visual learner!)
  7. Bring a large bot of water to a boil, and steam the ravioli for 2- 5 minutes on either a cooling rack placed over the boiling pot, or in a steaming basket. This is most effective if you are also able to place the lid over the pot with the raviolis inside.
  8. Serve warm with Alfredo sauce, shredded Parmesan cheese, or the pictured Kale Pesto!

DSC_0052

Notes and Tips!:

  • Source: A Rented Kitchen
  • Click here for the Kale Pesto with Lemon and Parmesan recipe! It’s seriously fantastic!
  • If you enjoy this recipe, check out these other delicious dishes from ‘a rented kitchen!’ (Recipes below!)