Banana Apple Bread

DSC_0513

Every family has a handful of recipes that get passed around, repeated, tweaked, saved, and requested. For my family, banana bread is one of those recipes. Every one of my aunts has their own version- similar to the version my grandmother used to make, however slightly different in their own way. This is the version I grew up with my mom making. There used to be nuts in her banana bread, but somewhere along the way she replaced the nuts with apple slices, which totally transformed this recipe.

Right around this time of year, as an elementary school student, my mom would whip up two batches of her famous banana bread for my younger brother and I.  We would proudly deliver the loaves to our teachers on the last day of school before Christmas break, as if we ourselves had anything to do with them being prepared.

Now I am on my own, and have far too many teachers for semester-end gifts.  However, I could not let the holidays slip by without the smell of banana apple bread in the oven, so here it is, my mom’s very own recipe. Hopefully you have the opportunity to try it sometime, as well as make some of your own family favorites this holiday season.

Happy baking!

-Sarah

 DSC_0515

 

DSC_0512

Ingredients:

  • ½  cup shortening (I use Crisco!)
  • 1 cup sugar + ¼ cup
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup peeled and finely chopped apple (about ½ a large apple)
  • 1 cup mashed banana (about 3 brown bananas)*
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • ½ cup Whole Wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 Tablespoon brown sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9 x 5 x 3 inch loaf pan.
  2. In a medium-sized bowl, cream together the shortening, vanilla, and 1 cup sugar. Add the eggs one at a time.
  3. Add the banana, mixing completely. Then fold in the apple pieces.
  4. In a separate large bowl, combine the dry ingredients – the flours, baking soda, and salt. Mix well.
  5. Combine the wet with the dry ingredients and pour into the prepared bread pan.
  6. Bake for 45 minutes- 1 hour, or until a toothpick comes out clean and the top is starting to brown.
  7. Allow the bread to cool in the pan for 10 minutes before
  8. Optional Topping: While the bread is first cooling, stir together ¼ cup sugar and 1 Tablespoon brown sugar. Sprinkle the loaf with a light layer of the sugar mixture.
  9. Slice, serve, and enjoy!

DSC_0511

Notes and Tips!:

  • I always use red apples of some variety, but if you prefer green, try those as well!
  • Mash your banana in a separate bowl before adding it to anything, it is hard to mash once in the big bowl with other ingredients.
  • This recipe is easy to double and makes excellent gifts for the holidays!
  • While you’re at it, check out these other delicious bread recipes! Lemon- Blueberry Yogurt Bread and Blueberry Cinnamon Coffee Cake– perfect for holiday baking!

 

9 thoughts on “Banana Apple Bread

    • aresr says:

      Thank you so much! And good question. I think the easiest way to print a recipe would be to copy and paste the ingredients and directions onto a word document page and then print that. Unfortunately, I do not have an easy print button on my page. I do the copy and paste method a lot though and never have any trouble. Hopefully that works for you as well! Thanks for stoping by and I hope you come again!

Leave a comment