Sweet Potato Thai Soup

DSC_0114

Hello wonderful readers! In just a matter of hours we will be saying goodbye to 2012 and welcoming in 2013. Hard to believe, right? At the beginning of 2012 my cooking experience in the kitchen consisted of popcorn, cereal, and homemade muffins. Now, 88 recipes behind me, I am still far from an expert, but no doubt my repertoire has grown exponentially.

My plans for growth have not stopped there. Here are a few of my goals for the New Year!

  • A few loaves of gluten free bread!
  • Homemade lasagna
  • A few Indian food dishes
  • A few more soups (maybe Egg Drop soup!)
  • Increasing use of seasonal dishes
  • Another veggie burger (see my black bean burger here)
  • Homemade chai tea
  • Garden fresh salsa
  • Sweet potato hummus

Expect these few recipes and many many more in the New Year. And come back often! Readers like you always inspire me to continue learning and cooking.

To welcome in the New Year, here is a delicious soup recipe from two of my favorite people- Meg and Jarrett.  My family has enjoyed it countless times, so I thought it was beyond time I share it with you all! Curl up with a bowl of this delicious soup to kick your January off to a great new start.

With love, and wishes for a wonderful New Year, from my little rented kitchen to yours

DSC_0107

Ingredients:

  • 2 (10 oz.) cans diced tomatoes and mild green chiles (I suggest Rotel Mild!)
  • 1 (15 oz.) can red beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 (14 oz.) can vegetable broth
  • 4 cups cubed, peeled sweet potato (about 1 ½ pounds)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 small red bell pepper, chopped
  • ½ cup water
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon ground cumin
  • ¼ teaspoon black pepper
  • 3 Tablespoons creamy peanut butter
  • Suggested Optional garnish: Chopped dry-roasted, unsalted peanuts and lime wedges

Directions:

  1. Combine the first 12 ingredients in a 5-quard slow cooker.
  2. Cover the slow cooker and cook on low for 7 hours, or until the vegetables are soft.
  3. Remove ½ cup of the warm liquid from the slow cooker, and place in a glass measuring cup or small bowl. Add the peanut butter to the liquid and whisk well.
  4. Mix the peanut butter mixture into the stew, stirring well.
  5. Serve with a sprinkling of peanuts and lime wedges, if desired.

 DSC_0098

Notes and Tips!:

 

5 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Thai Soup

Leave a comment