Homemade Peach Cobbler

 DSC_0009

DSC_0019

As I wrote in my last post (Healthy Peach Cobbler Oatmeal), my family just picked peaches. Knowing me, and knowing that we just picked peaches, you had to know this cobbler was coming! I tried to be healthy by starting out with the cobbler oatmeal, but let’s be honest, the true cobbler was where my heart really was!

I have never made a cobbler, so this was a new experience for me! I took some time researching a variety of recipes.  I found dozens of delicious-looking cobbler recipes, but what I was missing time after time, was that delicious streusel topping you often get on top of a good apple crisp (or my all-time favorite sweet potato casserole!). Thus, I added a streusel topping, and let me tell you what, it made all the difference.

The soft warm peaches, the perfect golden brown crust, a little sweet and crunchy streusel topping- mmmmm mmmm MMM! Tastes like vacation already.

In the one-week my family vacationed in New York we went through not one, but two of these cobblers. That had a little something to do with the fact that my father is always trying to cover something warm with a little ice cream (Man of my own heart), as well as the pressing reality that we had an entire bushel of peaches to finish in 5 days.

Thus, I present you with a scrumptious, vacation inspired, New York summer, fresh, streusel-topped cobbler. I hope you’re able to share it with your family, and maybe a little vanilla ice cream too 🙂

 DSC_0024

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 4-6 cups fresh peach slices, rinsed and cut into small chunks
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • ½ cup oats
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon nutmeg

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375˚F.  While the oven preheats, place one stick of butter in a 13 x 9 inch baking dish, and melt in the preheating oven.
  2. In a medium-sized bowl, combine the flour, white sugar, baking powder, and salt, mix well.
  3. Add the milk and vanilla to the dry mix, stirring just until the wet ingredients are moist. Set aside.
  4. Combine the brown sugar, peach slices (with peach juice), lemon juice, and cinnamon sticks in a large saucepot, and bring to a boil over high heat.  Allow to boil for 5 minutes (this allows the cinnamon flavor to blend into the peaches), stirring regularly.
  5. Pour the batter over the melted butter (do not stir).  Remove the cinnamon sticks from the peach mixture, and then spoon the peaches and their liquid over the batter.
  6. Bake for 10 minutes.  In the meantime, whisk the oats, brown sugar, and nutmeg together in a small bowl.
  7. Remove the cobbler form the oven and sprinkle the oat streusel topping over the peaches.  Bake for another 10-15 minutes, or until cooked all the way through and light brown on top.
  8. Serve warm or cold (optional: with vanilla ice cream!). Enjoy!

DSC_0015

Notes and Tips!:

  • Adapted form: Southern Living Magazine, June 1997
  • If you like this recipe, check out these other delicious summer treats from ‘A Rented Kitchen!’ Click on the links below for the recipe!:

7 thoughts on “Homemade Peach Cobbler

  1. Carol Are says:

    oh yum, nice job on the message.  It was a great week.  Would love to do it all over again right now! love you

    ________________________________

Leave a comment